Ecco Domani
Join us on Pinterest Icon Instagram Logo
About Ecco Domani

Announcing 2009-2010 EDFF Season


Seven Emerging Designers to Receive $25,000 Each for NY Fashion Week 2010

New York, NY, July 2009 – The search is on for the fashion stars of tomorrow, as the Ecco Domani® Fashion Foundation (EDFF), established by stylish Ecco Domani Italian wines, kicks off its ninth annual season. Seven emerging fashion designers – four Womenswear, one Menswear, one Accessories and one Sustainable Design winner – will each receive an extraordinary opportunity to showcase their collection during New York's fall fashion week, February 2010. The EDFF awards each come with a generous grant of $25,000 to help produce an unforgettable show. Some of today's hottest designers, including Zac Posen, Proenza Schouler, Rodarte, Doo Ri, Rag & Bone, Erin Fetherston and Alexander Wang, are past recipients of the Ecco Domani Fashion Foundation award.

“It was an honor to be recognized by the Ecco Domani Fashion Foundation and join such an elite group of designers” says Eviana Hartman of Bodkin Brooklyn, inaugural recipient of the 2009 Sustainable Design award. “It was so brave of Ecco Domani to introduce the Sustainable Design category. It’s a real step forward for the industry and I believe it will inspire more designers to change the way they do business.”

“For young designers who would be the next Rodarte, Derek Lam or Zac Posen, an Ecco Domani Fashion Foundation award in their bio is a proven measure of talent,” says Marylou Luther, EDFF judge and editor of The International Fashion Syndicate.  “Case in point: Thakoon Panichgul of Thakoon, and Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler, were relatively unknown when they received their awards in 2005 and 2003. Today, they're dressing First Lady Michelle Obama!”

The rigorous judging process is administered by an esteemed panel of judges. The selection committee includes Marylou Luther (Editor of The International Fashion Syndicate), Sally Singer (Fashion News/Features Director at Vogue), Kim Hastreiter (Editor in Chief and Publisher of Paper), Nicole Fischelis (Fashion Director at Macy's), Julie Gilhart (Vice President of Fashion Merchandising at Barneys), Ruth Finley (Publisher of The Fashion Calendar) and Ken Downing (Senior Vice President/Fashion Director at Neiman Marcus). The selection committee for menswear includes Jay Bell (Buyer for Menswear Design at Barneys New York), Christopher Bollen (Editor in Chief at Interview) and Alex Badia (Men's Fashion Director of Women's Wear Daily).

Interested candidates can find out more and download an application form for the 2010 EDFF award starting July 15th, 2009. Closing date for the ninth season is Friday, October 2, 2009 at 5:00pm EST. Finalists will be announced on January 4, 2010. Click for complete entrant criteria and official rules.

Rachele Testa
DeVries Public Relations
(646) 253-0239

Italian Table Wine © Ecco Domani® USA, Hayward, CA., All rights reserved.
Use of this site is subject to the user agreement, privacy policy, trademarks, and acceptable use policy.
Home About Ecco Domani Our Wines Fashion Foundation Wine Education Stylish Entertaining Food & Wine Recipes Buy Ecco Domani Wine Contact Us